A Message from Founder Liran Rosenfeld

On this special edition of Nomad Cloud, I’m proud to share a personal message from one of our members and someone I consider a visionary in our community. Liran Rosenfeld is building an exciting vision at Yoko Village and today I’ve asked him if he would share about it.

Yoko Village is a coliving community for digital nomads, entrepreneurs and investors nestled on the hillside of Santa Teresa, Costa Rica, just minutes from the beach.

The diverse landscape offers breathtaking ocean views with spectacular sunsets, natural resources, and serenity. This environment sets the stage for future villagers to strike a root in paradise.

Yoko Village, Santa Teresa

Their vision is to challenge the existing ways of living by creating eco-sustainable communities around the world that allow families and friends to live a more productive yet balanced co-working lifestyle.

As a new father myself, I love this vision.

Liran and his community have been featured in places like Forbes, and Entrepreneur magazine so you may already have heard about him.

Regardless, I encourage you all to connect with such an inspirational leader and listen to what he has to say.

Liran, I’ll let you take it from here..

Liran Rosenfeld

Thanks Olu! Hi everyone! When Olu asked me what I wanted to share with the community he asked me one question.

What is at the heart of YokoVillage?

My answer is this..

I always felt unnatural when it was time to do things like getting a mortgage, thinking I’d live in the same house for the next 20 years, raising children in just one neighborhood, and being bound to the same education system. I’m sure you can relate.

I just never bought that way of life that everyone next to me chose. When thinking about continuing to do things in the same way as my family and friends did, it did not feel natural.

Why does family seem like a restriction to so many of us?

Me, I’m afraid to be like so many of those who have made their family and then got trapped in it. This isn’t fear of commitment. Some deeper sensations are in play. They are related to fulfillment and to be staying true to myself and how I hope to live my life as a family man.

I know inside there can be a different way.

While this lifestyle may not be for everyone, it’s important to question why traditional ideas such as settling down in one place and sacrificing our freedoms for whatever reason or excuse have become the norm. For some of us, we need other types of freedoms. Committing to multiple locations, being close to nature, to leave a healthy co-working lifestyle, that I can imagine.

That’s how I imagined myself when I decided to stay and live most of my time in Costa Rica. But one location doesn’t cut it. It’s like we’re always changing. The transience of things is what keeps us moving, it is what’s really healthy for our souls.

Once the honeymoon stage of ”oh my god I’m on a beach in paradise, enjoying and working in remote, is over (quoting my partner Dr. David Pervan) people usually go back to their country because they are lonely.

What does community mean for me?

  • Loving your neighbors.

  • Sharing life together

  • Having friendships

  • Taking mutual responsibilities and working together.

  • It’s about thinking of others (not just myself) — It’s about investing time and money and focusing on the sustainability of habits

  • Understanding that we are all in different moments in the journey

  • Having acceptance.

  • Sometimes, this is just a hug, a smile, or a listening ear.

I got to experience community with my team, with the nurturing and creation of invaluable relationships that constantly happen within Yoko and the people around it, the members, advisors, helpers, funders etc.

What makes me work almost all of my awake hours to see this vision come to life?

It’s seeing a chance for a different way of living.

I’d like to describe Yoko Village as a passion project that embodies a vision for a different way of living. I am excited to share its purpose and potential with you today. They say you live once, but we live every day and we should make the maximum out of it.

So.. now I’d like to invite you to get involved with what we’re doing at Yoko Village. You can do this in two ways

First, would you like to join one of our upcoming events?

  • This August we host Yoko Connect. To learn more about Yoko Connect click here.

  • How about a surfing trip in the Maldives? You can learn more about this amazing experience here.

Finally.. I’m sure some of you are probably wondering what investment opportunities we currently offer at Yoko. Here they are:

  1. Buy a piece of land at Yoko Village. We have parcels starting at $200K. You can get in with $50K deposit and pay the remaining balance in 5-10 years with monthly installments. Learn more when you visit our data room.

  2. Join one of our JV’s where you get to co-own a villa. Minimum check starting at $25K

  3. Invest in our retreat center. Minimum check size starting at $70K

  4. Invest in our real estate fund in the Netherlands, with minimum check starting at 10K Euro. Or Buy a parcel at the first Yoko Village in Europe starting at 110K Euro

  5. Buy a ready-made villa. This is for those who are liquid with $1.2M onwards.

If you have serious interest you can call Liran here (yes it’s actually him!) or you can also book a call below.

Rate Today's Newsletter

Please drop a comment on how we can improve

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.